26 Comments
Dec 13, 2021Liked by Market Sentiment

BEST INVESTMENT: My education, traveling experiences, and smart people.

BEST TRADE: AMD at 77$ and NVDA at 130$. About %100 gain in a year. Still holding them.

WORST TRADE: DOGE :) bought it at 0.40$ didn’t sell at 0.70$ then gave up and sold around 0.20$

WHAT I LEARNED: During my college, I used to read a lot about CPU and GPU products, so I was sure that those companies would thrive even further in the future, and I decided to invest in their shares. However, when I bought DOGE it was all because of hype. My lesson so far is that “Trust your inner voice. You invest only in things you have faith in and things you really know.”

Expand full comment

My experience is way different to others here because I'm a dorky, buy-and-hold indexer. Still, for variety:

Best: International shares index fund (60% of this is basically the S&P 500).

Worst: bonds index fund.

Disclosure: These are the only two investments that I own. No-coiner, no individual stocks, no SPACs, no puts or calls, no fun.

Learning experience: Obviously bonds didn't tank but I realized that there's no point being conservative until you're up near retirement. If not, best to get invested in shares ASAP and stay invested for as long as possible. Still have some bonds but only enough to be an extension of my cash emergency fund.

Expand full comment
Dec 14, 2021Liked by Market Sentiment

Best investment : my education and time spent networking

best trade : GME and Bitcoin At 60k sell

Worst trade : Crude Oil Futures

Expand full comment
Dec 13, 2021Liked by Market Sentiment

Best: ishares energy etf. 200% when i sold.

Worst: multiple cannabis stocks. 1 was 99% loss and another was 80% loss when i sold.

Expand full comment
Dec 13, 2021Liked by Market Sentiment

Best - WFC bought at 24$, QCOM and AAPL bought at ~120$. Worst - Rize Medical Cannabis etf and PLUG, bought at almost ATH.

Expand full comment
Dec 12, 2021Liked by Market Sentiment

Best % - shiba Inu

Best $ amount - Rkt

Worst - tops

Expand full comment

Best - Xilam animation from 2 to 8-9 . Modern Dental x5 bagger in 6 months.

Worst: Koovs a startup, 100% loss.

Expand full comment

My best investment has been NIO which I picked up for under $9 in July 2020 and I still hold.

My worst investment was PSFE. Some lessons learned here with SPACs and management not living up to the shiny promises. Sold this for a 50% loss.

Expand full comment
Dec 12, 2021Liked by Market Sentiment

Best investment is between an AMD Jan 2023 LEAP @28.5 or GME @79 per share

Worst investment looks like an April VIAC June call, strike price $45

My main lesson learned is to avoid short call options unless I am truly confident in the call and am comfortable loosing all my premium.

Expand full comment

Best Investment;

a. Time spent reading and researching which lead to, b. buying a basket of uranium miner stocks in 2018 (among others)

Worst Investment;

Not buying enough cheap stocks during the COVID-19 March 2020 correction :D

Learnings;

Unrelated to the Best / Worst investments. The fact that someone is an expert or has a fancy title, doesn't mean that person is right or even knows what they're talking about. There are just different levels of conviction/confidence I guess. I've learned to always take everything with a pinch of salt and try to see the opposite point of view. Which then makes you question if the point of view that you find more reasonable is the result of good research or pure confirmation bias, but I'm working on that! 😂

Expand full comment

Hi, how are you

Expand full comment